Word of the Week/Persuasive Letter Project

I have started something new or revived something old depending on how you look at it.  I put out an SAT-worthy word on my bulletin board.  Students who use the word correctly in a sentence talking to me or in their writing are entered into a drawing at the end of the six weeks.  The current six weeks ends on February 26, and I have a great prize planned!  Last week’s word was pulchritude, a noun meaning physical beauty.  Encourage your student to try it out!

Example:  The young lady was a model of pulchritude.

We worked diligently in  class today on our rough drafts, and I told the students not to worry about getting them finished tonight since they have a social studies and math test on Thursday.  We will continue working in class on Thursday, and I foresee most finishing on Friday at the latest.  I will let you know how we progress.  On another note, I will remind them that a paragraph has five to seven sentences at a minimum, and the requirement for their essay is five paragraphs in length.  They can combine some of their reasons in one paragraph and make it longer if the language works that way for them.  I hope this helps ease any anxieties.  Take care, and God bless. 

Mrs. J